DotNetNuke® Guided Tour

Manage Your Website Users

Who are your website Users?  The term "User" applies to anyone who visits your website.  But there are two really two basic types of visitors that come to your website.

The first type is one who is just browsing around and never registers or at least never logs on, these are called Unauthenticated Users.  Unauthenticated users are anonymous.

The second type of user is one who logs in.  In order to log in they must have registered previously and so they are referred to as Registered Users.  Registered users identities are known so you can give them special permission to view or change things that other users cannot.

There is no requirement for you to have a website that requires Users to Register... that is an option that you can choose.  You may wish to have a website whose content is freely available to all visitors.  But no matter what, there is at least ONE registered user for your website... you (the Administrator)!

Step By Step: Select Website Registration Type

First, you'll want to select the type of registration that you would like to use on your website.  Its an important choice, but one that you shouldn't need to change once its made the first time.

1.   Select Site Settings from the Admin menu.

2.   On the Site Settings page, scroll down to the Advanced Settings section and find the User Registration setting.

3.   Select one of the options by clicking the appropriate radio button .

  • None:  Registration is not an available option to site visitors. The Login button remains visible so that the Administrator can still login; however the Registration button is hidden.  This setting is appropriate for sites that do not contain any “privileged” content.
     
  • Private: Visitors “apply” for access to your website. All User access is limited to that of any anonymous user until you explicitly authorize each them. This setting is appropriate for sites that require approval of Registration requests (e.g. a private family website which invites only friends and relatives to apply).
     
  • PublicRegistration is automatically (and immediately) authorized with no validation.  This setting is appropriate for sites that simply wish to keep track of usage but do not require contact information to be validated.
     
  • VerifiedRegistration creates a verification code which is included in a “welcome” email sent to the address supplied by the User. Authorization is granted when the user supplies the verification code when they first login. This process ensures that all Registered Users have supplied a valid email address.

4.   Click Update at the bottom of the page to save your changes!  Your registration scheme is now in effect.

Step By Step: Manage Users

Once you have Users, you may need to Add, Update or Delete them.

1.   Select User Accounts from the Admin menu.

From the User Accounts page you can find a user using lookup by Username or Email Address or you can list users by alpha.  The list gives a quick snapshot of a Users information including whether or not they are "Authorized".

2.   Click the Pencil icon next to any Username to open the Edit User Accounts page for that user.

From this Page there are a number of optional management functions you can perform.

(Optional Step)  Authorize a User by checking  the Authorized checkbox (or Un-authorize them by un-checking the checkbox .  Recall that if you have your Registration set to Private, this manual Authorization step is required or none of your users will be able to Login!

(Optional StepRequire (or make optional) information fields for User Registration.  If the boxes are checked the fields will be required when a User registers on the website.  If the boxes are unchecked , the fields will be optional.

(Optional StepReset a Password for a User by entering a new password and confirming it by entering it again.

3.   Click Update at the bottom of the page to save your changes!

Powered By DotNetNuke®