DotNetNuke® Guided Tour

Delete a Page

If you determine that you don't want a page anymore you can Delete it.  There are two ways to delete a Page from your website and we'll look at both.

The simplest way to delete a page on your website is to use the Delete button in the Page Functions area of the Control Panel (at the top of the page).

When you Delete a Page it is not lost forever.  You can recover a page that you have deleted from the Recycle Bin (see Recover a Deleted Page).

Step By Step: Page Delete

1.   Begin on the Page that you wish to delete.  Click the Delete button on the Control Panel.

2.  Click OK to confirm that you wish to Delete the Page you are currently looking at.  After the page is deleted you'll be taken to the Home page of your website.

Step By Step: Delete from Page Settings

If you've read the Create A Page (Advanced) tutorial, you know that there are some types of Pages that you cannot navigate to (and so can't use the Delete button on the Control Panel).  They either point to an external web site or a document or perhaps they don't really have a page at all (but are just menu items which cannot be clicked).  These cases require you to delete the page from the Page Settings.

1.   To reach the Page Settings for this type of page, scroll over the Admin menu and select the Pages menu item.

2.   Select the Page from the list and click on the Edit button.  The Edit button looks like a blue Pencil.  You will be taken to the Page Settings for the page selected.

3.   At the bottom of the Page Settings, click the Delete button.

4.   Click OK to confirm that you wish to Delete the Page.  After the page is deleted you'll be taken back to the Pages list.

Powered By DotNetNuke®