DotNetNuke® Guided Tour

Securing Modules

Sometimes you don't want to completely "hide" a Page by securing it.  Sometimes you'd rather have that page be visible and just secure some of the Modules on it.  This is really useful to let website visitors know that they can access additional information if they Register and then Login.  If a website visitor does not have access to a particular module, it simply won't be visible on the page.

A Page might look like this for an anonymous website visitor:

And like this after they have logged in... notice that the first Module seems to "disappear" and some new modules have "appeared".  This is done with Module Permissions.

Step By Step: Setting Module Permissions

We'll just use the Page pictured above for an example.  The view of an Administrator (that's you!) displays ALL the Modules (so you can see and change their settings).

1.  Click the Module Settings icon or select Settings from the Module Actions menu for the "Registration Required" message (we're going to make this Module viewable ONLY to users who are NOT logged in).  It's the one in the Top Pane.

Check Unauthenticated Users for View Module permission.  Uncheck any other groups (note that Administrators always have View Module permission).

Click Update at the bottom of the Page to save your changes.

2.  Now click the Module Settings icon or select Settings from the Module Actions menu for the each of the other modules (we're going to make these Modules viewable ONLY to users who ARE logged in).  You'll need to do this for each module on your page that you wish to secure for Registered Users only.

Check Registered Users for View Module permissions.  Uncheck any others.

Click Update at the bottom of the Page to save your changes.

Additional Information:

There are really four (4) different ways to think about giving access to Modules on your website.  Who would you like to be able to see each module?

(1) Administrators:  Only users who have the authority to "administer" your website can see these modules (so that means you)!  This is a good setting to use for modules that you are in the process of setting up but don't want anyone to see until you are finished.  You can use the Page Editors Only option of the Visibility selector when you add new modules to keep them private until you are ready.

When a Module is only visible to website Administrators a red border is applied to alert you of this.  That way you won't forget that nobody can see them except you!

(2) Unauthenticated Users:  All visitors can view your Module anonymously.  "Unauthenticated" means that the user has not logged in and may not even be registered as a user of your website.  Think of this as "public" access... things that you want everyone to be able to see.

(3) Registered Users:  Users that have filled out a Registration form on your website and now have a User Name and Password and have already logged in.

(4) Custom Group of Users:  These are Registered Users that you have also placed into a special group or "Role" that you have created (e.g. "Family" or "Customers").  For more information on custom groups you'll want to read the tutorial: Manage Users.

Powered By DotNetNuke®